Heard It In a Love Song by Debra Sutton



Heard It In a Love Song

Some songs I will never be able to hear the same way again. Of course lyrics mean different things to different people. The writer has his own meaning and interpretation, but people read into it what they will and come up with meanings that apply to them and their own lives. I have listened recently to three songs that my ex-husband played throughout our marriage. These songs were played a lot in our home, as he drank and blared the music so loud it could not be be enjoyed. The songs have no romantic connotation as our music was not a shared experience. He played his music, he did not care to listen to mine.  I like these songs, but I did not see any special meaning in them at the time.

The first song I Should Have Never Started Loving You-Is it true when they say I was mean a cruel.- These lyrics stand out because he was mean and cruel and I believe he knew it. All the loves I’ve had I’ve made them out as fools.-I certainly was fooled. He knew any woman he married would have to be fooled. I should have never started loving you.- He knew he should not have married. You hugged me in a way that I have never felt, sky turned so dark I thought I knew you well.- He felt love from me. I’m so lonely girl wish I could leave this world.- Even though he felt loved by me he was still lonely because I am not what he wanted. Only a man could fill his loneliness.

Heard it in a love song.- If he heard it in a love song it can’t be wrong. He did not know how to love a woman. He had to go by what he heard. If he could love a woman I would be his kind.

Take it easy. -With words like I’m looking for a lover that won’t blow my cover, she’s so hard to find. I wanna know if your sweet love is going to save me.-This is what he was looking for a woman to hide behind, to cover him. He wanted me to save him.

As straight wives all of our memories are replaced. We go over everything words and songs take on new meaning. His actions take on new meaning once you know. His behaviors are suddenly revealed. All of the things that seemed strange at the time come to light. Then it hits you ah ha now I know what that meant. You will have many light bulb moments as it all unfolds. You will find you were in a marriage were nothing about him was real. Living in the back drop of their lives we wives are pretty insignificant. I get satisfaction in knowing not much has changed for him he’s still playing those same old tunes.

“I Should Have Never Started Lovin’ You”Marshall Tucker Band

There’s something in your eyes that remind me

Of all the loves I’ve left behind me

Looks on your face yes they tell me

That I should have never started loving you

It was true when they said that I was mean and cruel

All the loves I’ve had I’ve made them out as fools

Now the tide has turned and I’m lonely too

I should have never started loving you

I should have never started loving you

After all the things that we’ve been through

I could have spent my whole life with you

I should have never started loving you

You hugged me in a way that I had never felt

Sky turned so dark I thought I knew you well

I’m so lonely girl wish I could leave this world

I should have never started loving you

I should have never started loving you

After all the things that we’ve been through

I could have spent my whole life with you

I should have never started loving you

[Solo]
It was true when they said that I was mean and cruel

All the loves I’ve had I’ve made them out as fools

Now the tide has turned and I’m lonely too

I should have never started loving you

I should have never started loving you

After all the things that we’ve been through

I could have spent my whole life with you

I should have never started loving you

I should have never started loving you

I should have never started loving you

I should have never started loving you

“Heard It In A Love Song” Marshall Tucker Band 

I ain’t never been with a woman long enough

For my boots to get old

We’ve been together so long now

They both need resoled

If I ever settle down

You’d be my kind

And it’s a good time for me

To head on down the line

Heard it in a love song [3x]

Can’t be wrong

I’m the kinda man likes to get away

Like to start dreaming about

Tomorrow, today

Never said that I love you

even though it’s so

Where’s that duffle bag of mine?

It’s time to go

Heard it in a love song [3x]

Can’t be wrong

I’m gonna be leaving

At the break of dawn

Wish you could come

But I don’t need no woman tagging along

I’ll sneak out that door

Couldn’t stand to see you cry

I’d stay another year if I saw teardrops in your eyes

Heard it in a love song [3x]

Can’t be wrong

I never had a damn thing, but what I had

I had to leave it behind

You’re the hardest thing

I ever tried to get off my mind

Always something greener on the other side of that hill

I was born a wrangler and a rounder

And I guess I always will

Heard it in a love song [3x]

Can’t be wrong

“Take It Easy” lyrics THE EAGLES 

Well, I’m running down the road

tryin’ to loosen my load

I’ve got seven women on

my mind,

Four that wanna own me,

Two that wanna stone me,

One says she’s a friend of mine

Take It easy, take it easy

Don’t let the sound of your own wheels

drive you crazy

Lighten up while you still can

don’t even try to understand

Just find a place to make your stand

and take it easy

Well, I’m a standing on a corner

in Winslow, Arizona

and such a fine sight to see

It’s a girl, my Lord, in a flatbed

Ford slowin’ down to take a look at me

Come on, baby, don’t say maybe

I gotta know if your sweet love is

gonna save me

We may lose and we may win though

we will never be here again

so open up, I’m climbin’ in,

so take it easy

Well I’m running down the road trying to loosen

my load, got a world of trouble on my mind

lookin’ for a lover who won’t blow my

cover, she’s so hard to find

Take it easy, take it easy

don’t let the sound of your own

wheels make you crazy

come on baby, don’t say maybe

I gotta know if your sweet love is

gonna save me, oh oh oh

Oh we got it easy

We oughta take it easy

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Heard It In a Love Song by Debra Sutton

  1. My ex loved “Take it Easy” although he didn’t seem to like any other Eagles songs. I always wondered why, too, but as soon as I realized he was gay that line came to mind immediately. What a coincidence!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Jessie. Yes music and photos can trigger emotions. Then there are times when I have been walking to the store and I will see a black Chevy Silverado the same truck my gex drove and this will trigger memories out of the blue. I’ve learned to turn the music off and try to get my mind focused on something else. My memories are not happy memories. Once your history with that person is replaced with the truth it changes everything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

